I’ve been feeling a panic about never fitting anywhere. The world wasn’t designed for me. There is no bathroom I can comfortably and safely use. I am always the asterisk / afterthought / exception / inconvenience / confusion demanding explanation / the apologetic “close enough”. I am the awkward neither-here-nor-there in-between. I frequently have to ask myself which of these two things can I pass myself off as today, and usually, because of my non-conforming gender presentation, it’s neither. I don’t know how to live in a world that has no space for me. I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

